Certification for Minority-owned Businesses

SBA 8(a) certification through city, county or state programs

We’ll begin with an

Eligibility Analysis

Certification Types

  • Different Minority, Disadvantaged & Woman-owned Business Certifications accepted by U.S. corporations (i.e., MBE or WBE).
  • Certifications used exclusively by federal and local governments [i.e., MBE, WBE, DBE, SBA 8(a) or WOSB]

  • Market Opportunities

  • Where to apply for certification, based on an analysis of relevant marketplace opportunities relevant to your business.

  • Business Evaluation

  • Primary owner(s) business, and personal circumstances; specifically:
  • areas negatively impacting your firm’s eligibility
  • corrections to make before applying
  • recommend potential solutions
  • reliable timeline to acquire certification

  • Eligibility Criteria for SBA 8(a)

    Generally, the minimum requirements to apply for admission into the Small Business Administration’s 8(a) Business Development Program are:

    • A for-profit business meets the basic requirements for admission to the 8(a) program if it is a small business which is unconditionally owned and controlled by one or more socially and economically disadvantaged individuals who are of good character and citizens of and residing in the United States, and which demonstrates potential for success.
    • Social Disadvantage means an individual who is a member of a presumed group;
    • Economic Disadvantage means, in general terms, excluding the primary residence and ownership in the applying firm, a socially disadvantage individuals whose personal net worth does not exceed the current SBA’s standard;
    • Three year average of annual gross receipts due not exceed the Small Business Size Standard as defined by SBA regulations 13 CFR 121.40