Certification for Minority-owned Businesses

VOBE certification through city, county or state programs

We’ll begin with an

Eligibility Analysis

Certification Types

  • Different Minority, Disadvantaged & Woman-owned Business Certifications accepted by U.S. corporations (i.e., MBE or WBE).
  • Certifications used exclusively by federal and local governments [i.e., MBE, WBE, DBE, SBA 8(a) or WOSB]

  • Market Opportunities

  • Where to apply for certification, based on an analysis of relevant marketplace opportunities relevant to your business.

  • Business Evaluation

  • Primary owner(s) business, and personal circumstances; specifically:
  • areas negatively impacting your firm’s eligibility
  • corrections to make before applying
  • recommend potential solutions
  • reliable timeline to acquire certification

  • Eligibility Criteria for VOBE

    • One or more service-disabled veterans, with a service-connected disability rating of 10% or greater, must own at least 51% of the business enterprise.  (DVS) to set up a meeting with a DVA State Veterans Benefits Advisor to determine whether you should file a claim with the federal VA to obtain a rating decision.
    • The service-disabled veteran owner(s) must have (and exercise) authority to control independently the day-to-day business decisions
    • The business must qualify as a small business under the New York State program. This means:
      • The enterprise is independently owned and operated
      • The enterprise has no more than 300 employees and has a significant business presence in the state but is not dominant in its field
        • The company must have a significant business presence in New York State.