Certification for Minority-owned Businesses

WBE certification through city, county or state programs

We’ll begin with an

Eligibility Analysis

Certification Types

  • Different Minority, Disadvantaged & Woman-owned Business Certifications accepted by U.S. corporations (i.e., MBE or WBE).
  • Certifications used exclusively by federal and local governments [i.e., MBE, WBE, DBE, SBA 8(a) or WOSB]

  • Market Opportunities

  • Where to apply for certification, based on an analysis of relevant marketplace opportunities relevant to your business.

  • Business Evaluation

  • Primary owner(s) business, and personal circumstances; specifically:
  • areas negatively impacting your firm’s eligibility
  • corrections to make before applying
  • recommend potential solutions
  • reliable timeline to acquire certification

  • Eligibility Criteria for WBE

    The minimum requirements to qualify as a WBE with the Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC) or a WBE program administered by a city, county or state are:

    • A for-profit business located in the United States;
    •  51% owned by a woman, or a group of women who, but for an inheritance, contributed a proportionate amount of capital to acquire ownership.
    • When applicable, governing board is controlled by a woman or a group of women;
    • Top executive officer, responsible for daily operations is a woman with a technical expertise (experience) in the firm’s primary business activity;
    • Women owners are U.S. Citizens or legal residents.